Arcade Cabinets

January 6, 2011

Obviously I will not need to worry about this part until after this hand in but I have decided to look at the styles that arcade cabinets have as mine is a mixture of an arcade game and real life physical objects. Arcade cabinets are almost always big, loud, with lights all over them so if I want to create one in this style I need to put in a lot of time, money and effort but in the end I feel will be worth it for the exhibition.

The game OutRun has an incredibly ridiculous arcade cabinet as they have gone all out by making it look like a car with the wheels and the car seat but have still got the arcade feel by leaving out the front and the sides. It is an amazing idea and I think that if OutRun wasn’t written all over the casing you would still recognise this as being OutRun which is brilliant for a company.

This casing has gone one step further again, they have tried to make it look as much like a real car as possible. I think that these are sometimes a little too much and over the top but can’t deny that they do grab your attention immediately as you step into an arcade.

When I originally thought of having the controls for my project in an arcade style cabinet this is the style I initially thought of. The problem with this style is that I don’t think that it works that well for car racing games as the pedals are awkward to use as you are stood up and it takes away from the effect of you driving the car that is on screen.

This is much more the style that I am going to try and re-create. A simple box type casing for the electronics and controlls with a car seat for participants to sit in. I think that this would be fairly easy to re-create for my own work.

As mine is going to have two cars racing this might be more the style I try to make. Have the promotional banner at the top connecting the two cabinets together, having two seats/screens this close really gives it a competative feel to it in my eyes. Black seems to be a pretty standard colour to have with the bright colours then standing out more so on the cabinets.

Leave a comment